Camp Pioneer–post one

I spent last week at Camp Pioneer in Angola, New York. My church goes there every summer for a servant event. They do odd jobs and big jobs to get the camp ready for summer campers. This was my first trip there. I wasn’t sure what to expect. I had heard about refurbished cabins, cottages being built and beautiful sunsets. No one told me about the daisies. They are my favorite flower and they were everywhere.

I arrived at camp sick. Not fair! I had a terrible cold most of the week making it difficult to have a good time. Ed, had lot of fun though. Since he can eat regular food he was able to go to the dining hall for his meals. He said there was a lot of singing before and after each meal. I like to sing. While he was doing that I was in my room with my gluten-free meal and a book. Since I felt awful that was a nice break.

The first day I and my friend, Marty worked with the preschoolers. I love working with kids that age. When I started my ‘career’ I intended to get a degree in early childhood, the college I was at didn’t have that program so I switched to a degree in learning disabilities/behavior disorders and minored in psychology. I clearly strayed from my path. Working with the little ones gave me such joy (even while feeling terrible!) Later that afternoon we tackled kids corner. What a mess! It hadn’t been used since last summer and a lot of inappropriate things had found there way inside, like an electric shaver! That could have been fun for some budding barber!

more to come…..
Diana

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Camp Pioneer–post one

  1. I love that second daisy shot, very artsy.

  2. Diana says:

    Thanks, I like that one too.

Leave a Reply

